Just My Luck

Well you know I love me a bit of Urbex photography. You may also know am currently getting to know a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-R1 (i’m rocking like it’s 2003). So today I set out for our first shoot, to record a site currently under re-development. Now, i’m not really one to get involved with trespassing, but today I thought, be brave, go on, just do it. Despite my trepidation, I had a great time wondering around this site, pouring over the layers like I was on an archeological dig. Being me, with my luck, I was confronted by a team of SES (emergency services) workers. I was sure I was busted, they had papers, was I getting a fine? No, they were just on a manhunt. You know, if you see this guy, call the police. Right. Good. Ok. Phew, I think.

Like I wasn’t on edge enough already.

I am currently sorting through my images and looking forward to sharing the story soon.

6 comments
  1. artblablablablog said:

    Funny story, did you take their picture?

  2. I know the feeling. There’s quite a lot of places around where I live that I *really* want to take photos of and go exploring, but it’d be trespassing at the least. I don’t think the U.S does fines, they will usually arrest you as it’s a misdemeanor here. Lately I’ve been trying to get in contact with the people who own the places and seeing if I can get permission, sign a waiver of release, anything really. That’s proving to be fairly difficult, unfortunately. Largely because all the contacts are dead ends.

    I’ve been pretty lucky finding some decent places that aren’t posted, and already opened up, but those are very rare.

    It’s a real shame.

    • It’s tricky. I’m not sure how i’ll approach it in the future, normally I just don’t go on to private property. Are you in NY? Some great places on your blog. I assume here (Australia) that it would just be a good talking too from the police but I guess the risk is an arrest. I’ll keep you posted, literally 😉

      • Indeed, but most of the more rural shots are from all along the east & southeast coasts. I spend a good amount of traveling that route so photography works out nicely. That and google earth give me a good head start on where there are some decent places that might be worth checking out. 🙂

        I have a friend that got stopped while taking photos – he just showed them the pictures he was taking and they didn’t do anything aside from tell him he’s got to leave. It’s really at their discretion, I suppose.

      • Googlemaps, didn’t think of that. Looking to plan a road trip early June, might just be the trick 🙂

Leave a Reply

