Book Report: Beijing by Craig Atkinson

I had an amazing trip to Beijing in 2008. I love China and had previously been to Shanghai a number of times for work. The east coast cities I have visited have been overwhelmingly inspiring. The sights, the sounds, the smells. Ok maybe not the smells. But oh the people, the hustle and the bustle. But mostly the contrasts, the sharp clashing of old China against the raging change of the ever evolving new China.

As I mentioned, last month I attended the Independent Photography Festival Photo Book and Zine Fair. It was a great little event held in the back of a pub here in Melbourne. A number of stalls filled with piles and piles of creative work, coffee and a bar. What more could you ask for?

When I spied the Beijing zine by Craig Atkinson I had to pick up a copy. I was quickly whisked away down memory lane, through familiar streets and monuments to a place of hazy skied contentment. This zine is filled with beautiful, honest B&W imagery. Atkinson has a keen sense of capturing place through the everyday and the everyday in breathtaking places. His work is well worth checking out further.

I’m now eagerly awaiting the arrival of Berlin and Butcher’s Row. But for now, here are a couple of pages from Beijing for you.

Leave a Reply

